Toxic Reels

Cheolan
2 min readJan 5, 2021

I am not a big fan of social media. But, I agree that social media connects people across the world and enables people to gain information quickly and easily. However, we tend to get lost because we are weak enough to get distracted by eye-catching posts.

The platforms are intelligent enough to find out what we are interested in so that we are surrounded by suggested content, meaning we can’t not view the content. As a result, we spend more time on it than we plan or we think.

Now we don’t even need to make an effort to search or scroll down and up to look for content I would like to see. The ‘Reels’ lines up content similar to ones that I have viewed and liked. Thus, all I need to do to waste my time is just scroll down and down and down, which what exactly the platforms want us to do. It helps the platforms make money eventually.

Photo by 🇨🇭 Claudio Schwarz | @purzlbaumon Unsplash

I unconsciously spend minutes on scrolling down. I am scared by noticing myself to click the Instagram icon first when I open my phone.

One good thing about this new habit is I have got some useful tips in various parts. The tips are usually things that would help your daily life, but it is also harmless if you don’t know. My reels are filled with…

--

--

Cheolan

London and Seoul / Write to think, read and listen